xt m785 brakes! double 180 or 180/160 mm rotors?

Discussion in 'The Workshop' started by bing!, Mar 18, 2012.

1. bing!

bing! Active Member

i just bought a set of the new xt brakes. those ice tech rotors are pretty expensive so i held back and thought id ask first before i purchased them.

a brief back ground. ive been running juicy 3s for 2 years now. i like them, but after being given a set of elixirs, i find that i have more confidence to go faster with just a tad more modulation. used them a couple times more and found that this set im using, the rer brake lever will sink into its travel when it heats up. i decided to jump head first into an upgrade.

ive run 180 front and rear. i like 180 front and 160 rear better on my juicys. thats all ive ever run on the elixirs, and they seeem plenty powerful. my question is, with the modulation of the xts, what would size rotor would you buy for the them?

i am also going to try to adapt the xts to my existing 185/160 avid rotors and brake adapters. i know there may be fit problems, but im willing to give it a try. a test fit is a minor inconvenience compared to blowing 120 on hardware i may not need me thinks

2. 2wheel_lee

2wheel_lee Active Member

I've been using the XTRs on my AM 29er with 160 mm rotors. At about 200 pounds, I've been quite impressed with their performance, but I can say the same for most all the newer Shimano disc brakes with the servo-wave function. Knowing your weight and wheel size can make a difference in a recommendation. In only one situation on a fast, technical trail did I cause the brakes to fade. I don't know your riding level, but this wasn't a situation for riders at a normal skill level, so I don't think it would apply to many. A 180 in the front would have helped.