Weir/Santiago Canyon

Discussion in 'Trail Conditions' started by fastpassu, May 20, 2009.

1. fastpassu

fastpassu Addict

So today I rode both Canyons, not all the way through but about half of each. I live right next to this place so my route is a little different. First off, Weir was starting to get really overgrown with weeds in certain spots and bees were everywhere! Second, I hate riding this place. I dont know what it is. It does have some great down hill sections in places but the climbs seem killer. I have been riding for about 2-3 years now and have ridden many different places but his is by far the hardest place for me. Is it just a beast and I'm not read for this yet? Does anyone else struggle here as bad as I do?

Oh and it was hot out there today!

2. DISCO

DISCO Banned

Non-Profit Treasurer, Asset Valutation, Managment,
    Home Page:
    I would not brag too loudly as most of it is Irvine's "Private Property" so we will all assume it was a docent led ride with no trespassing involved;).

And yes, the climbs in Fremont are bitch.

3. Pho'dUp

Pho'dUp Spam Musubi MasherSS

P-line rider
    There's a reason the hills in Santiago Oaks are called the 3 Bitches. But yeah, there's some a couple of steepies in Weir too. Especially the one that curves to the left on your way out of the park headed back to Oaks. It's always rutted and I've grabbed the bush/tree a few times from stall.

4. H2oChick

H2oChick Active Member

We ride Weir regularly and every now and then add Santiago to it. I have no love for this trail but it is a good work out. I dread the B's and the climb up the street.

5. Winger

Winger Member

Weir is a strange trail. It can go from being a beginner trail to intermediate within a couple of months. Right now it is probably more on the intermediate level as there are lots of ruts and a couple of switchbacks w/ ruts that will throw you over the bars if you aren't careful.