upgrade advice

Discussion in 'The Market Place' started by mco804, May 9, 2007.

1. mco804

mco804 New Member

What would you upgrade on a 07 GT Avalanche 1.0??? I was thinking carbon bars, stem, and seat post to start out but with all the options out there I have no clue what would be best. What do you guys recommend?? I’m new to riding and so far I been hitting the local trails around Santa Clarita.

2. guero

guero iFroth

give us more specs on the bike, and we can better advise you on what we think would be worthy upgrades.

3. mco804

mco804 New Member

here is a link to the bike I have
    GT BICYCLES

thanks for the fast response!!!!!

4. dstepper

dstepper (R.I.P.) Over the hill

www.themostprogram.com owner
    Home Page:
    First off, welcome to the site.

Ride it and replace stuff as it wears out or breaks. If you get bitten bad by the MTBing bug you will be drooling over custom Ti frames soon anyway.

Dean

5. Collette

Collette New Member

I agree with Steppie. Ride the bike until stuff starts breaking, or wearing out.

I'm also a believer in buying according to your ability. If you're new to the sport, you don't really need top-end anything right now, that's just a waste of money IMO.

6. gurp13

gurp13 SolarFederationMember

High School Teacher
    I might be superstitious here, but the last thing I would put on a mountain bike would be carbon stem, handlebars or seatpost. This might be my ignorance showing (so I reserve the right to f8ck off if I'm wrong), but I am under the impression that when carbon fails it usually does so fairly spectacularly and I really don't want any one of those three to do that.

Carbon on road bikes? Yes! Mountain bikes? Gimme some metal.

kaotic1 (Tin) has a carbon Stumpjumper. Maybe he knows more. I bet many people on here know more about carbon parts. It just gives me the willies.

7. Waldo

Waldo Lebowski Urban Achiever

Foothill Ranch... but my credit card lives at The