Santiago Oaks: Tips for a Beginner?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Vinhy, Jun 19, 2013.

1. Vinhy

Vinhy New Member

So I've been biking for several months now, and a couple weeks back went up Mountain Goat to the top and down Chutes Ridgeline for the first time, and had a blast. I survived, but to be honest, barely haha.

I've searched the forums a lot, and have read tidbits on the technical difficulties of the various trails at Santiago Oaks, but have read differing opinions.

My question for all you more advanced riders at Oaks is:
    How would you rank the level of difficulty for the various downhill trails there? For example, I've read some people think Hawk or Grasshopper is most technical, vs Barham Ridge or Chutes ridgeline is, etc.

I just wanna map out my next routes there, and perhaps wanna know what I may be able to do, or should perhaps avoid as a beginner. There are so many route options!

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help!

2. MojoCP

MojoCP New Member

Arguing
    Hawk and a tricky trail just south of Mountain Goat (toward the dam...maybe it's a part of mountain goat?) are the two most technical descents there, in my opinion. Everything else you can make as radical as you want by laying off the brakes. Those two I mentioned require some focus and attention at any speed.

Frankly, those two are the only trails I cannot clean from top to bottom in my skinny-tired, no suspension cyclocross bike. So those 2 get my vote.

Grasshopper only has one rock waterfall section that is advanced, the rest being quite manageable.

Chutes is technical in places, but not as a whole. If you string together all of the features; jumps, log, rocks, etc., then you can bring up the difficulty. But it's not unavoidable difficulty.

3. irv_usc

irv_usc Active Member

I think you're talking about 'old goat' or "waterfall", it was the way down before the switchbacks were built, as I was told?

4. ridinrox

ridinrox Well-Known Member

Realtor/Full Realty