Rim Trail (Mt. Wilson)

Discussion in 'Trail Conditions' started by Duke, Nov 10, 2011.

1. Duke

Duke New Member

musician/composer/piano teacher/composition teache
    A friend of mine "rode" the Rim Trail (from the top of Mt. Wilson down to Newcomb's Pass) a few weeks ago. Apparently, it's in piss poor condition and THEN some. About half of the trail's 3.6 miles is pretty much a hike-a- bike over landslides and RIDICULOUSLY loose and narrow terrain.

I was just wondering what it would take to get a crew of volunteers (me included), to go up there and do some work on the trail. First of all, is it even legal to do this without getting permission from ANF?? I don't know...I'm brand new to this concept of "trail work", but I think that the Rim Trail is a pretty neat trail, and it's a shame that it's been neglected (and supposedly it's been in bad shape for quite awhile and it keeps getting worse).

Anybody have some insight into this? Anybody willing to help?

Or maybe it might be better to wait until Spring because of the snow that's probably covering parts of the trail right now?

Suggestions? Comments? Profound thoughts? :)

Thanks, guys!

2. dstepper

dstepper (R.I.P.) Over the hill

www.themostprogram.com owner
    Home Page:
    Years back when we re-opened the trail over Mt Zion the rangers at Chantry where very helpful. Having a Forest Service Trail boss train a few people then the FS does not have to be present for all trail work. CORBA has done many trail work days on the trails on Mt Wilson and the Mt Wilson Bicycling Association pancake breakfast last weekend they also do a lot of trail work on Wilson.

Thoughs? It would be nice to have it in good shape but as long as I have been riding Wilson (6 years) it has never been in good shape.

http://www.corbamtb.com/

http://mwba.org/

Dean

3. Duke

Duke New Member

Yeah, from the pictures that I saw, it looked like it had been neglected for AT LEAST 6 years. If not, more....

Damn shame..

4. croatianinja