MMM...Brakes

Discussion in 'The Workshop' started by Red Hot Sloth, Jan 28, 2008.

1. Red Hot Sloth

Red Hot Sloth Banned

Well, I am in the market for new brakes. I have Hayes 9's with an 8" rotor up front, and 6" on the back. I have been running these same brakes since 2002/03, getting a bit old, and wanting something new, shiney, strong, quiet, user friendly...you know, the plug-n-play good stuff.
    I have considered a couple kinds. First of all, some of you have ridden with me, so you know my stature and will understand my choices. The thing is, I have never used any of these, and have no first hand experience with the brakes I will be mentioning. I am looking for pro's and con's for each. I don't mind having extra weight as long as there is a pay-off. I've never weighed my bike, but I know most of you would consider it heavy. My front wheel/tire combo weighs more than most riders entire wheelset. I ride aggressive, and climb slow, I'm not a racer, never will be, so weight isn't really a factor.
    Avid Code: I have read in many places these have decent power. But I have also read that people have had issues, like bad bleeds from the package, pain in the a$$ to set-up, sticking pistons. I like the fact they have 4 pistons, and have power plus. The manufacturer states they have 13% more power than the juicy 7's, but people say they have massive power, kinda contradicting, but I guess its speculative unless you've used both in a controlled environment <<whatever. But I know parts are easy to get, these being Avids, easy to service. Breakaway lever design. Are they easy to bleed? And if they are like the juicys..do they squeel...that drives me nuts.
    Hope: Looking at the M-4's or the Moto's(shaweet!)