Downhill looking at building first DH bike. need input!

Discussion in 'The Adrenaline Factory' started by minimusprime, Oct 26, 2009.

1. minimusprime

minimusprime Did I just taste purple?

So I got bit by the DH bug.

Currently I’ve got a pitch pro that I’ve completely upgraded and built up to burly status. (talas 36, slx cranks, 823’s with hp2’s etc etc) It honestly does pretty well for some light stuff at mammoth but it’s linear suspension setup just leaves me wondering what I would do on something more substantial.

So this leads me to my current thought. I’d like to try a DH bike out for next year and build one possibly at the end of next season. Being that I’ve never tried a DH bike before and most rentals are total shit I got to thinking that I prob shouldn’t drop a huge amount of cash into a frame right off the bat and I should handle this like I handled my pitch. (cheap entry cost get a good component set and upgrade the frame later if I really like it)

So this got me thinking about options. After a short review of the landscape I was thinking of getting into the game with a kona stinky or something and a solid reliable entry level DC fork.

A few questions

1- Opinions on the stinky. I’m not going to be a DH racer for some time and even if I do it will be amateur. I figure I’ll get it setup with some decent components saint cranks x9 derailleurs and all that and if I really like having a big travel bike I’ll move the components over to something more hardcore. Opinions on buying USED dh bike frames? Also any other suggestions for cost effective 7-8” dh bike frames? The draw to the stinky is it seems i can find some decent ones for 550-700 for the frame alone.

2- Opinions on using the stinky (7” frame with an 8” fork) Geo seems similar to most other dh bikes off the get go. BB seems high to me not being a dh guy.