Info about RockShox Recon SL

Discussion in 'The Workshop' started by strobe, Feb 20, 2011.

1. strobe

strobe resident noob

This shock came on my Trek 6700 and the RockShox website isn't much help since it doesn't list the SL model.

I am wanting to insert a stiffer spring which i think is the Recon Fixed Spring Black 11.4015.122.000. Can anybody confirm this is the correct spring? I've also only got about 15hrs ride time on it. Do I need the seal kit (which one would i get anyways?)? I've got no problem getting a kit just in case, but, again which one? Do I only need a Rockshox 32mm version like this kit from Jenson's
    fk406f00__________reba.jpg
    or the EuroForkSeals version
    EuroFork32mm.jpg which i believe Jenson's also carries? I am thinking about the bike maintenance clinic and would like to have all the parts i need before going. Any help for a noob?

2. thomaswildchild

thomaswildchild Active Member

I am a Machinist
    Home Page:
    Im not sure about the seal kit, but You can give mike a call tomorrow sometime and ask him directly! 714.879.8310 hope this helps a bit.

3. mfoga

mfoga Intense Whore

What year fork do you have and are you sure its a coil shock and not an air shock?

You don't need seals to change a spring but depending how long you have been riding on the fork it may be worth it to change oil and replace seals.

4. strobe

strobe resident noob

Its on a 2010 Trek 6700. All Trek website has about it is "RockShox Recon SL Solo Air w/air spring, rebound, TurnKey lockout, alloy steerer, 100mm" . It doesn't have an air valve to pump it and the shop i bought the bike from said it was a spring. Thats the problem with it, no info on Rockshox website about this specific model.

Regarding the seals, only about 15hrs ride time. I would just hate to tear down and have a torn seal without a replacement.

5. mfoga

mfoga Intense Whore