Camping and mountain biking at Snow Summit

Discussion in 'Trailhead' started by stinky180, Sep 10, 2008.

1. stinky180

stinky180 Will make it Reign....

Hey STR! Me and a few friends are going to go camping and mountain biking in big bear this weekend and i was wondering if any of you have any tips. We are camping at the pineknot campground located next to snow summit ski lifts. We are planning on taking the ski lifts up and then biking around. Here is the trail map of the area

LINK TO MAP

The route I have planned is to head west on the 2N10 to the grandview point. after hanging out for a bit go north 1E01. Then back to camp on the 18. I feel that this route is going to be short and mostly fireroad.

Another route i have planned is to head east on the 2N10 and then hitting up the upper and lower falline trails. is this area very technical?

i am not a pro, nor are my friends. i also feel that this map does not show me all the trails that are there. does anybody here have any routes around snow summit for a begginer -> intermediate rider? does anybody have a better map that they dont mind scanning?

this is going to be my first camping/mountain biking trip and i can not wait! :bang:

2. Jutty

Jutty STR Lurker

Manufacturing/IT
    Going to wait in on a reply as well, might finally head up there on Saturday...

3. smokedtitan

smokedtitan New Member

How much does it cost to camp there?

4. stinky180

NICE! i have a red/black giant boulder se (extra small). i'll be rolling with 3 other people. so if you see me, say hello :wave:

each night is 20 dollars with a 7 dollars reservation fee. check out recreation.gov for more information.\\:D/

5. Happy_Gilmore

Happy_Gilmore Blood Donor - Give Life

Summit Lift assist looks like a possibility on Sat and maybe Sun (AM bikes of course).

6. stinky180

what do you mean exactly?:?:

7. stinkyrider

stinkyrider ....BANSHEE RIDER

burden of the state