Baby Seat or Trailer

Discussion in 'The Workshop' started by el_d00der1n0, Apr 8, 2008.

1. el_d00der1n0

el_d00der1n0 New Member

Home Page:
    My kid is nearing 10 months now, and I figure around 1 year I can somehow drag her around on a fun ride with the wife so we can somehow get the wife back on a bike.

So, I'm looking at either a trailer or one of those seat things that you attach to the back of a hardtail.

So, what do you all think? Which is best from your experience? How old/big should she be before I put her in one?

Gratuitous cute baby pic:
    [​IMG]

2. Red Hot Sloth

Red Hot Sloth Banned

I have no experience with either, but my thoughts are to use a trailor..strength training and safety :)

3. surlygal

surlygal Bad Girl of DH

Accountant
    Trailer - We used to carry Maddie around all the time. You just need to put the car seat in the carrier just like you would in your car and strap it in backwards. When she does get older you can turn her around. We started at age 3 months, but were very careful on bumps and such (shaken baby sindrome - no shaking your little ones head around).

Your little one is a little older and wouldn't have to worry so much.

We used a Burly Trailer :wave:

4. Kid A

Kid A now with 40% more bacon

working 4 da man
    I was told (insert wife's voice) baby should be 1 year old /be able to hold its head up stong before trailing kid.[-X

I know there are a few on board who took there kids out before that age but we waited.:(

I use the chariot trailer (see pic) for my son and it works great. solid harniss system and good "shock absorbtion" not cheap but works well. its' got pocket for his drink/food etc. :drunk:
    Never used seat but imagine trailer has a bit better balance :-k particulary when hucking ;)

btw - cute kid:clap:

Attached Files:

5. PacMan

PacMan New Member

As has been said, the child should be old enough to hold their head up and be pretty independantly stable.