Argh! I'm becoming one of THEM!

Discussion in 'The Roadie Hangout' started by kyoseki, Oct 8, 2008.

1. kyoseki

kyoseki New Member

Apparently I'm an artist of some description
    Ok, so after realizing that I'm spending 90% of my saddle time on the road anyway (I ride 20-30 miles every other day after work, will step that up a bit as well soon I hope) I figured I might as well do it properly.

I splurged on one of the few Intense Fenix frames they had left in stock, it's a 60cm, but it feels like it will fit well, the top tube is slightly shorter than the one on my old Hardrock (that I'm using as a training bike) but I figure with the drops it should fit me nicely.

I'm not a light guy (but Intense assure me that I should be fine on the Fenix) so strength is more important to me than shaving 100 grams here and there, I'm ok spending money on quality parts, I learnt long ago not to try to skimp on stuff, the last time I went cheap on a bike I broke everything, twice.

For wheels I'm splurging a bit as well, Industry Nine have started making road bike wheels and since I've had good luck with my Cane Creek Aeroheats I figure the I9s will be fine, it's a 3 month lead time for these buggering things though so it gives me plenty of time to spec out the rest of it (and lose 30 lbs before I get on it) :)

I was planning on running an aluminum Thompson stem and seatpost, along with EC90 or EA90 bars, headset I'm not sure about, what would be the best here? You don't use star nuts in carbon steering tubes do you? Any input there?

For the groupset I'm really not sure, it seems I can get a full Dura Ace 7800 groupset from Star Bike for around $900 or go crazy and get a 7900 set for $1400, I've used starbike before for the XTR stuff on my 5.5 and apart from a 2 week wait while the stuff gets shipped over from Europe, they're fine, stupidly cheap.

Given the money I'm dropping on the thing elsewhere I might just say screw it and go 7900.