Video card want to buy Video card

Discussion in 'Non-Bike Related' started by mtb_prodigy, Sep 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mtb_prodigy

    mtb_prodigy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone have any video cards they wanna sell? I really need one. went on ebay but too expensive.

    I need an AGP video card
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 28, 2008
  2. DirtymikeTDB

    DirtymikeTDB Guest

    Like what kind of video card????
     
  3. COLEKO

    COLEKO The Flying Hawaiian

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    La Mirada
    Home Page:
    May want to point out what type you need, like AGP, PCI, or PCI Express.
     
  4. mtb_prodigy

    mtb_prodigy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Video Card Minimum: 64 MB DirectX 8.1 compatible video card (NVIDIA GeForce 3 or better) You Have: Intel(R) 82845G/GL Graphics Controller (Intel(R) 82845G/GL Chip)

    [​IMG]FAIL: Sorry, your video card does not meet this minimum requirement. Upgrade to a more powerful video card will make all your applications look better. Click the 'We Recommend' button to see some great options.Video Card Features - Minimum attributes of your Video Card [​IMG]Video RAM: Required - 64 MB , You have - 64 MB[​IMG]Video Card 3D Acceleration: Required - Yes , You have - Yes[​IMG]Pixel Shader Ver.: Required - 1.1 , You have - 0.0


    i need it to play a game
     
  5. autoduel

    autoduel sandbagger

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Architecture
    Location:
    Mission Viejo
    I got a ATI Radeon X700 Pro 256mb AGP, but I still don't know what slot you have.
     
  6. jeffj

    jeffj Bloated Mountain B'hiker

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,617
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Bloated Mountain Biker
    Location:
    Castaic, CA
    From looking at his specs, I'd guess PCI or possibly AGP (or maybe on-board?), but he should be able to open the device manager and look at the 'display adapter' properties to determine which type of slot his uses for certain.

    EDIT: Mine says PCI there too, but it's an AGP card. However, if I right click on the desktop and select properties, select 'settings' tab, then select the 'advanced' button, it shows the properties of my video card and there it shows my card as being used by the AGP bus.
     
  7. mtb_prodigy

    mtb_prodigy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    location: pci bus


    thats what the properties told me
     
  8. JoeTruth

    JoeTruth Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,086
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sierra Madre, CA
    I don't know what mobo you have but I do know what chipset you have (845g). Based on that information, I'm about 99.9% you need an AGP video card (AGP 2X/4X, 1.5V Only). NOT PCI-e (express), which is what the current graphics standard is.
    http://support.intel.com/design/motherbd/bv/index.htm

    Be sure you have an AGP slot. Some entry level boards with integrated graphics, didn't always include an AGP slot and some only have a PCI slot. Check inside your computer to be sure first.

    Call around (i.e. Fry's, Circuit City, mom and pop computer shops) and see who and what they have in stock. Someone could have something in stock that they want to get rid of as bad as you want to purchase one. I'd go with at least 128 mb of ram.


     
  9. jeffj

    jeffj Bloated Mountain B'hiker

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,617
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Bloated Mountain Biker
    Location:
    Castaic, CA
    Here's a picture showing both an AGP bus and a PCI bus. The top slot (purple) is AGP and the bottom two slots (white) are PCI. Look carefully at the slots and you should be able to determine which one you need. If your mobo has agp, there will only be one and it will be further away from the back of the computer than the PCI slots will as it is in the picture.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. CA_descender

    CA_descender IamHAZZMATTseeMEgroove

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,014
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Father & Husband
    Location:
    805,
    If you do need an AGP card then go to Frys and buy a new one. AGP is outdated and the cards sell for a lot less then they used to. I picked up a VisionTek Radeon HD2400, 512MB AGP 8x card for about 80$. I believe a 256MB card goes for about 50 or 60 $ and anything less can be bought for about 30 to 40$.

    If you do not like Frys then check out newegg.com you will find video cards ranging from 20$ on up to 500$ depending on your needs.
     
  11. RC_Compton

    RC_Compton Straight Outta CPT

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    EMT for Riverside County
    Location:
    Riverside, CA
    Wow I didn't know they still had GPUs that were only 64 MB with no pixel shader... How old is your comp? May be time to get a new one... :-k
     
  12. mtb_prodigy

    mtb_prodigy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It looks like pci


    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  13. JoeTruth

    JoeTruth Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,086
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sierra Madre, CA
    No, that slot to the far top is an AGP slot.
    Dude, you seriously need to blow the inside of that thing out. It is filthy! If you have a compressor, take it outside and blow the shiat out of it. Otherwise, go get some compressed air, take it outside and try your best to blow the shiat out of it. Especially all fans and heat sink beneath cpu fan. That's disgustingly dirty and horrible for ventilation and it will over heat.


     
  14. mtb_prodigy

    mtb_prodigy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0


    Thanks a lot
     
  15. dstepper

    dstepper Over the hill

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12,683
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Occupation:
    www.themostprogram.com owner
    Location:
    Laguna Beach
    Home Page:
    Looks like you have a empty slot for more memory. While it is apart and if you have not maxed out the memory, I would through another stick in there.

    Dean
     
  16. crashergs

    crashergs New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Carpenter
    Location:
    INLAND EMPIRE
    damn.... invest that $$$ on a new computer
     
  17. mtb_prodigy

    mtb_prodigy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0

    If i had money id invest it in a new bike.
     
  18. DirtymikeTDB

    DirtymikeTDB Guest

    Yeap thats AGP, dirty as well, get some more ram while its apart, clean it, save for a new unit.



    What game are you wanting to play????? Might need a new system if yours is old enough to be running 64 megs, and be on integrated video.
     
  19. crashergs

    crashergs New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Carpenter
    Location:
    INLAND EMPIRE
    I got a GTX 280 OCX 1GB ram card for sale
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Help keep STR alive, please click the donation button below