Trainer Routines ?

Discussion in 'Racing and Training' started by strobe, Mar 13, 2014.

1. strobe

strobe resident noob

If i'm lucky, i can get in one ride a week on dirt and try to use it as fun/enjoyment. I'm hoping to supplement this with 45-90min trainer rides 2-3x/week. I am a training noob, so, i never know if i'm over training, too many intervals, or needing to build base miles. Here's a few examples of my current routines.

1min Intervals-58min10min> Warmup
    1min> zone 5- 1min> zone 3 (Repeat interval 7 times)
    10min> zone 4
    1min> zone 5- 1min> zone 3 (Repeat interval 7 times)
    10min> Cooldown

SS Building Routine-
    70min
    10min> Warmup
    20min> Standing with HR @ zone 4/5
    5min> HR @ zone 2
    20min> Standing with HR @ zone 4/5
    5min> HR @ zone 2
    10min> Cooldown

Zone 3 Step Up-70min

10min> Warmup
    5min> zone 3- 2min> zone 5- 3min> zone 2 (Repeat 5x)
    10min> Cooldown

10min+Intervals-108min

10min> Warmup
    10min> zone 4/5- 1min> zone 5- 1min> zone 3- 1min> zone 5- 1min> zone 3- 1min> zone 5- 1min> zone 3- 1min> zone 5- 5min> zone 2 (Repeat 4x)
    10min> Cooldown

I get a bit tired of pushing hard with these routines more than 2x a week. I'm hoping to find a cycle that will help me stay motivated to ride the trainer while getting fitness and strength. What do you do on the trainer or rollers to get in pedal time and build stamina/power?

2. MnMDan

MnMDan Member

Focus on intensity for that time...if you're going for 90 minutes, stop and get off the bike for about five minutes in the middle for a mental break...here's some variations: