R.I.P. - List your old bikes here! What did you start on? What bikes do you miss?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by CruIsRad!, Sep 11, 2007.

1. CruIsRad!

CruIsRad! New Member

Hey gang,

After seeing this in my sig, Devoid169 recommended we make a thread devoted to your our past bicycles!

List the bikes that got you to where you are today! Who's got the longest history???

I'll start off...

I started racing BMX when I was 6, went til I was 15 in Single A Pro...

-ELF
    -Hutch
    -Revcore
    -GT
    -CW
    -Auburn

Then in high school I started riding MTB, and I never went back! I found you could jump MTB's just as easily as BMX bikes and I felt more comfortable because I was getting too big for a 20"!

-Univega S7.7 (carbon/kevlar HT)
    -Univega M7.3 (ditto)
    -Boulder Defiant (CrMo F/S)
    -Manitou HT (Alum HT...this was my favorite hardtail of all time, but it was WAY too fragile! Snapped it in half at the BB/chainstay! Complete rig was 22 lbs and it felt like a large BMX bike!)
    -Fisher Supercaliber (Alum HT...my LEAST fave bike, I hated this thing! Genesis Geometry just means "top tube is way too long to pull the front end up". lol.)
    -Specialized Stumpjumper Pro M2 (Alum HT...should be called an Extra-Hard Tail! Stiff!)
    -KHS Softtail (Alum front, CrMo rear...I like this bike!)

...somewhere in there was a Raleigh, Cannondale, and an AMP B4, but I can't recall the order!

How about you guys...what are some brands from your past that you remember riding on?

2. dubjay

dubjay Having upgraditis is OK

Work for publisher of fashion magazines
    Home Page:
    My first multispeed bike was a 10 speed my dad found in a dumpster somewhere.

First purchased multispeed bike was a Benotto or something - I don't clearly remember. It got stolen at college.

I ended up getting a Cannondale F300 a few years after college (1996), wanting to get back into riding.