Road Ride Report Portland Century

Discussion in 'The Roadie Hangout' started by kyoseki, Aug 20, 2009.

1. kyoseki

kyoseki New Member

Apparently I'm an artist of some description
    My girlfriend grew up in Portland, so I've been there a couple of times in the last few years, it's a really nice city, it has a nice feel of permanence to the place, it feels like a real city rather than something that was thrown together from plywood and stucco (consider this more an indictment of LA's architecture than LA in general, I still like it down here).

So being the colossally naive and optimistic idiot I am, I signed up for this thing in the Spring, with the hope that I'd be in rather better shape than I was.

Unfortunately, I was mistaken.

So, knowing that I wasn't in anything like good enough shape, I figured I'd complete my preparations the previous day by drinking and eating anything that wasn't nailed down or welded to something.

Apparently (and I'm still not sure how) this involved drinking copious amounts of Sake, and knowing that there was a sakery out west of Portland, clearly we couldn't sully ourselves by wasting time drinking anything we could get in bulk later, so obviously we had to drink everything else;
    [​IMG]
    (yes, I'm ashamed to say it, but the pink fizzy one at the far end was really rather good, yes yes, I know that the words pink and fizzy are not enjoyed by any real man, but bite me if I care :p).

We stayed at The Nines hotel in downtown Portland, which was all of half a mile from the start/finish line, it's a pretty flash hotel, but we booked something like 8 months in advance and got it for half price (just a hint in case any of you feel like doing it next year). Turns out that there was a pretty nice bar on the rooftop (that nobody bothered to tell us about), with a great selection of beer & wine (hey, it's Portland) as well as a big list of robata and other snacky type things with a pretty solid view;
    [​IMG]