How I Built My Own MTB Light

Discussion in 'The Workshop' started by BrewMaster, Dec 1, 2007.

1. BrewMaster

BrewMaster Thirsty

Chemist
    I built my own MTB light this week and rode with it at the Loop on Thursday night. A few people asked me to post up what I did and how I did it, so here we go.

First, this is not my design, so all the credit goes to "dan" on Instructables.com. Here is the design I followed.

My light burned for about 3 hours. Low and high settings were pretty close in brightness since I used only 1 dimmer switch with a 1000 ohm resistor. I may up this to 3000 ohms to see how it works for a low setting.

This light was as bright if not brighter than any light out at the Loop on Thursday. It lit up the whole trail and I had no problem riding at a good clip. I thought the cyan (green) LEDs made it easier to see definition in the trail. I think someone called this light "green terror."

The instructions were pretty easy to follow. I have very little knowledge of electrical engineering and I had never soldered before this week. This was a fun project that was really not very difficult. With a few screw ups, it took me about 3 hours. I could probably do it again in about 1.5 hours. All together I think I spent about $70-$80 building this bright light including buying a nice 8 cell NiMH battery charger.

Here are some of my step by step pics.

Get an old computer heat sink and solder the LEDs into the configuration laid out by Dan. Use thermal compound (the white goop) to improve thermal transfer to the heat sink. LEDs get hot, so this is important.
    [​IMG]

I sealed and glued the LEDs to the heat sink with clear silicone sealant/adhesive.
    [​IMG]

Snap the lens holders over the LEDs and allow the silicone to glue them in place. Leave the silicone to cure for a while.
    [​IMG]