Have you ever taken a bike clinic or are your skills self taught?

Discussion in 'Racing and Training' started by krishno22, Jan 19, 2011.

1. krishno22

krishno22 New Member

http://www.bikeskills.com/clinics.php

I'm really getting into biking and through my many web searches came across a clinic that is offered in Aliso Woods. I thought about doing it this past summer but never got around to it. Now there are no dates available but I'm guessing it will start up again this Spring.

Has anyone ever done the Joe Lawwill class? Is it worth $89?

I play golf and I always tell someone new to the sport to take lessons before they ingrain bad habits. You just don't hear that advice when it comes to mountain biking.

Opinions?

2. herzalot

herzalot Well-Known Member

EdgeUCater
    I rode mtbikes for 18 years before I took a DH clinic. I have now taken 6 DH clinics. Two with Julius Syvanen in San Diego, one with JD Swanguen in Corona and three different half days at Whistler. The Whistler ones were more to have someone to ride with and show me the trails (yes - a sort of paid riding companion - sad really). I enjoyed every one of the clinics. I can't say it made a profound difference, but it did confirm that I actually have some natural ability. Us old guys need as much validation as we can get.

Take Lawwill's clinic. He'll show you some cool things.

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 19, 2011
  3. sasquatch9billion

sasquatch9billion Active Member

Non-profiteer.
    Home Page:
    Golf and cycling are VERY, VERY, different. I think most cyclists learn through trial and error as well as riding with other riders of varying skill levels. If you are still interested in a clinic I believe Doug (Dirtvert) runs a beginner's clinic at Aliso-His is free.

4. rojomas

rojomas A.K.A The Oxx

The little bit of skill that I have is left over from when I used to ride BMX when I was a kid.

5. Dune66

Dune66 The Sleeper has Awakened!

N/A
  6. polonia2

polonia2 New Member