Has anyone ever been killed

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by chubacabra, Jan 22, 2015.

1. chubacabra

chubacabra Threapy Dog

...by something that they have purchased at HARBOR FREIGHT? Just wondering......

There's an angled 4.5" grinder for $9.99. I can just see myself using it and all of a sudden the wheel shears off the shaft and flies into something or someone. Plus they have a complete pneumatic 10" tire/wheel for $3.99, I'd hate to think of any small trailer disasters.

2. bing!

bing! Active Member

I have one of those angle grinders. I'm still alive :)

3. Heyitsdave

Heyitsdave Member

Almost, myself. Their 20.00 cast iron bearing splitter, failed while pressing gears off a shaft from a manual transmission I was working on at home. I bought the 200.00 forged bearing splitter from Snap-On the next day at work.

4. FD Pezman

FD Pezman Member

Smooth Operator
    I used to work as a fabricator on a military installation in ocean side working on very very expensive things, mind you these things cost 250 million plus. Almost everyone used those 9.99 right angle grinder from harbor freight, they last about a year with proper oiling then you just toss them and get a new one. only issue with them was the locking nut would come loose and spin off that holds the head on, just lock tight it and your good.

5. doublewide

doublewide Ride Life....Ride GIANT

King
    But your neighbors dog is not.......

6. bing!

bing! Active Member

? ? ?

Seriously, I had to cut a small section of rebar that jutted out of a cement block in my yard. This was the most practical thing to do. Buy it and chuck it. Surprisingly, I've had it for 3 years and it works for when I need it (cutting locks, smoothing steerer cuts). If you use an angle grinder for work, or will be unsafe with a power tool without a kill switch, Harbor Freight isn't the place to go :)

7. leondelmonte

leondelmonte Member