Going back to tube bliss

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rojomas, Feb 19, 2013.

1. rojomas

rojomas A.K.A The Oxx

I am so done with this tubeless hype!

I've been running Tubeless for a few years now and I've come to the conclusion, that for me the prevention of a few flats a year just doesn't justify all the hassles that come with it. The only reason why I converted to tubeless is because I got sick and tierd of hearing one of my riding buddies b!tchin and complaining every time I pinch flatted even though I've witnessed him getting flats many times even though he was tubeless. By going tubeless it seems to me all I did is traded pinch flats for side wall tears. For some reason I've never had so many side wall cuts since converting to tubeless. Not to mention the mess of installation, The hassle of adding more Stan's every other month, the expense of buying UST tires and bottles of Stan's for maintenance.
    When you do slice a side wall and have to put a tube in, now you have to deal with the mess of all the Stan's getting all over the place while trying to put the tube in. Plus, I've gone down twice because the front tire burped. The last time I wrecked is because I sliced the side wall, lost air pressure then burped the tire and crashed. Then when I went to put a tube in it, I couldn't get the valve stem out because the Stan's acted like Loctite and had locked the knurled nut into place so I had to walk my bike out 4 miles.
    For me tubeless is too unsafe and unpredictable. I would much rather change a tube once in a while.

Sorry, rant over.

2. trailninja

trailninja Going Slideways!!!!

Quality Engineer