Road Ride Report Full Moon Commute

Discussion in 'The Roadie Hangout' started by Doughboy, Jul 27, 2010.

1. Doughboy

Doughboy Simple Man

(As opposed to what was once my half-assed commute I suppose :) yes, I know it's not the solstice... but the full moon reminded me I had written this a while back. Someone once asked me: "Why do you ride your bike to work?" Here's my answer)

I had planned on riding my bike only to the train station in order to get to work early, but the moment I started riding I knew this day was different. I can blame it on the full moon, middle age or some sort of character flaw... but today I needed to ride the whole way. Sometimes one needs to listen to that inner voice. I guess I could always blame it on my bike.

According to some the full moon around the solstice (the Solstice Moon) appears to hang near the horizon longer than normal. I researched it a bit to try and find the answer, but somewhere between wave/particle physics and the consequences of the sun being at its highest point in the sky and the moon at its lowest, it all seems to come down to perception. You might as well ask a poet... or perhaps a singlespeeder. Most of them are pretty enlightened.

Pedaling away from my garage, for whatever reason the moon did appear as huge and full as the predawn sky was clear and wide. I never find it difficult to find justification to do something bike related. I’ve been biking partway to work (among other places) for a few years. I take my bike on vacations. My wife says I have an unhealthy relationship with my bike - that I’d probably lie, cheat and steal in order to spend more time with it – a midlife crisis on wheels. True, sometimes I’m unsure if my biking supports the bagel addiction or vice versa, but one thing was certain: today was the day to ride the entire distance – work would wait. I was not taking the train today.