Cyclocross anyone??????

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Blakedkeller, Jan 24, 2012.

1. Blakedkeller

Blakedkeller New Member

my bikes.
    hey everyone im new to STR and i just got a CX bike and im looking for places and people to ride with!:wave::wave::wave:

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 24, 2012
  2. sasquatch9billion

sasquatch9billion Active Member

Non-profiteer.
    Home Page:
    Welcome dude. I know there's a few cross guys on here. I'm looking to pick-up a cx bike in the next couple of months as well. It'll make rides like black star and el morro more fun.

3. matty_P

matty_P New Member

medical student
    just got a cross bike also. a lot of rides around here are fine and fun on a cross bike, but riding trails does tend to make pinch flats. check out the marshall ride i did last week.
    http://www.socaltrailriders.org/for...arshall-canyon-gravel-grinder.html#post893631
    let me know if you'd like to meet up sometime to do a ride. i think cross bikes are great to make big loops that have pavement and trails mixed together.

4. ManInAShed

ManInAShed New Member

Destroyer of worlds.
    Cross is fun, but I usually find it's just as fun doling out the beers from the sidelines and heckling a couple rival road-only teams, who show up, but whine about having to ride off-road, and quickly eat shit as soon as anything like handling skills are required. About once a year they drag me out and make me ride. ...usually shuts me up for a week or so. Never been to a cross race in CA. What do you do without snow & freezing mud? Ride on sandy stuff? Curious.

5. matty_P

matty_P New Member

medical student
    i've just been using mine to add some fire roads and not too technical trails into road loops. makes those loops a lot more fun. i agree that you really need cold and wet for proper cross.

6. Rumpled

Rumpled Longtime Newb

Biologist
    I've been racing CX for the last two years (someone has to finish last)