Bike rack for pop up trailer

Discussion in 'The Workshop' started by so cal shaggy, Apr 7, 2012.

1. so cal shaggy

so cal shaggy New Member

Food purchaser
    Hey guys, I recently became the owner of a pop up trailer and have been trying to figure out how I can pack my bikes into it when taking a trip. My first plan was to remove both wheels and stow them inside the trailer but then I realized I was going to be taking up precious space for the essential other items needed so my girlfriend who is very tenacious when it comes to looking things up on the internet found a rack that someone had posted on a camping forum. I looked into the rack and it was pricey so I studied the photos and decided it was a pretty simple item to build. This weekend I finally found the time to put everything together and here are the pics. The rack that the bikes attach to is removable so that we can pull the silders that hold the beds out.

Uprights that the rack slides into
    [​IMG]

close up of the upright and mount on the tongue of the trailer
    [​IMG]

bikes mounted
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

I still have some work to do such as painting it and rounding off the corners but most of the work is done and it cost me less than $30 to make. I also use a ratchet tie down strap secured on each side that I put over the rear ends of the bikes to keep them from bouncing up and down. Not bad for a few hours of work on a Saturday morning.

2. EL Jim

EL Jim New Member

Fireman
    saved yourself about $250.

3. nailknot

nailknot Member

destruction of material
    I have also seen where they just drill holes in the top of the pop up and bolt the fork mounts directly to the top. They also mount a few battery hold down straps ( like they use in boats) to secure the rear wheels. Use ample amounts of silicone sealer around all drilling points through the top!

4. so cal shaggy

so cal shaggy New Member

Food purchaser