The first step is admitting the adiction...

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by 2wheel_lee, Jan 15, 2007.

1. 2wheel_lee

2wheel_lee Active Member

My name is Lee, and I am a bikeaholic. I don't recognize my biking is a problem, but I figured I'd share my addiction with the rest of you.

Like many of you, I started riding at a young age. I thought I was hot shi@ when I was about 8 when I replaced the banana seat with a solo seat on my 1973 Schwinn Stingray. I was really cool when I replaced the frame with a Webco when I was 10.

Fast forward a few years, and I was working at Buena Park Bike Shop. Remember the guy who founded Dyno (later bought by GT Bicycles)? We worked there together. Also, Dave Hanson, who now owns Jax Bicycles, also worked there. I later worked at Sunny Hills Cycles in Fullerton, and I was there until 1987. I'll buy lunch for anyone who remembers the owner.

Ever hear of the Parks BMX track in Fullerton? I think about it every time I ride by the old location when riding the Fully Loop. Does anyone remember this practice track? The area has changed considerably.

After high school, my interest was redirected. This was partly due to a crash on a BMX bike where I tore my ear off, fractured C5, and broke my left wrist (the 2nd of 4 times). I just couldn't race [BMX] anymore.

Had a few crappy mountain bikes after that. You know, those that had the bar welded to the stem. Those sucked. It never did work for me.

In 1993, I bought the latest in suspension technology: a GT RTS 1 with 2-3/4 inches of travel. That thing was so trick. But I hate how it felt. Everyone thought I was nuts when I installed a 90mm stem and a set of Answer riser bars (yeah, the ones with the gold shims). People thought it was goofy looking with a short stem and riser bars. I thought it was the wave of the future.