Simple Green vs. Muc Off

Discussion in 'The Workshop' started by Pup-n-taco, Jul 9, 2009.

1. Pup-n-taco

Pup-n-taco Yeah. It's MINE.

Pilot
    The LBS told me that simple green is bad for the bikes because it is kind of corrosive. I know some people use it but I wondered what the consensus was.

I also wondered if anyone has used the muc off cleaner and/or bike spray and what y'all think of that.

I've been using simple green as of late but am not married to it.

2. DISCO

DISCO Banned

Non-Profit Treasurer, Asset Valutation, Managment,
    Home Page:
    Do you dilute it or just shoot from the bottle ?

The fumes from Simple Green get to me if it's mixed up strong but for household cleaning just go with 2oz or so to a quart. Really better off just using a feather duster for most local riding though:-k.

3. UPSed

UPSed SPECIALizED

I've been using Orange Blast for a few years and it doesn't seem to be as harsh as Simple Green. For bike use I would dilute either one anyways.

4. Pup-n-taco

Pup-n-taco Yeah. It's MINE.

Pilot

Dilute? What a novel concept:-k. I wouldn't consider myself a total idiot but never once thought of diluting it. I don't spray it on the frame (where a feather duster would work fine) but just the oily, grimey stuff.

Now that I think about it, most idiots don't consider themselves idiots. Hhhmmm.

5. KBL

KBL Powered by chocolate

I use un-diluted Simple Green on my chain and other drivetrain parts, but it's probably overkill for the frame.

I usually clean the frame with a wet rag, dry it off, and then use automotive wax to make it all slippery n' purdy.

Frame cleaning and waxing sessions are few and far between. My bike still has flecks of red mud on it from a Utah trip almost a month ago.:)

6. COLEKO

COLEKO The Flying Hawaiian

Home Page:
    I do the same thing and use wax. It helps with cleaning later on.

7. DISCO

DISCO Banned

Non-Profit Treasurer, Asset Valutation, Managment,
    Home Page:
    Inorance is bliss...