My Slopestyle Build - Questions

Discussion in 'The Adrenaline Factory' started by davidB, Mar 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. davidB

davidB Active Member

all done ;)

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 26, 2009
  2. tekknics12

tekknics12 New Member

I'm a designer in the Apparel and action sports In
  3. mfoga

mfoga Intense Whore

Ok David here is the difference between Saint and X9 RD. In shortest gear the X9 sticks out from the hanger over 1/2" more (closer to 3/4") then the saint. The Saint is more compact then even the XT and XTR shadow so those will fall somewhere in between the two.

4. soul rider

soul rider EMPTY V

veal in a cubicle
    I am running an FSA pig head set 1.5 reducer to 1 1/8, it's not flush though.
    a 180 mm single crown fork 2007 66, but note that if you run an 8" fork the bike may not feel balanced, it may be balanced, but won't feel balanced Tekknics12 may give you better insight as to the feel of the bike with that set up...:?:
    for your chain guide, Intense recommends E-13 as E-13 designed guides around the frame. (I had to custom fit a Blackspire Stinger Dual ring guide to fit my SS,
    I had to cut a slot out of the guide to clear the lower Vpp linkage.)
    cranks, that's your call, but I would put in something in that fits the intent of the bike, but use 165-170mm arms
    RD, use what you like to use already, the money you save buy cranks.
    as for the spring, google the "mountain bike spring rate calculator"...the 400lbs spring may be correct, but check it out.
    my small frame came with a 350 lbs spring and messing with the numbers in the calculator 350 lbs is correct
    building these bikes turns into a game of 1/8 of an inch and go or no-go
    it's early so if I missed something let me know...
    here's my build...http://www.socaltrailriders.org/forum/general-discussion/31104-my-new-ride.html#post472385

5. BFloFoxRider.

BFloFoxRider. Active Member

Army