Avid Brake Pad Change + Rubbing

Discussion in 'The Workshop' started by M.C. Gong, Mar 29, 2011.

1. M.C. Gong

M.C. Gong I am the motor

CENIC
    Just changed out my Avid Elixir Pads but not the rotor rubs on both sides. I tried to push the pistons back in on both sides as much as they would go. The piston still sticks out inside the caliper about 1-2mm. When I squeeze the lever now, there is no play before it engages...the pads are constantly touching the rotor. Seems like I need to let some fluid out of the system or something. Will bleeding solve this. Thanks

2. thomaswildchild

thomaswildchild Active Member

I am a Machinist
    Home Page:
    Don't bleed them, you just need to push the pistons back more. (Same issue to mine when changingpads) put the old ones back in and using a flat blade or standard screwdrivew twist to push both back at the same time. Take the pads out and try the new ones for clearance. If they still rub then clean the area around the pistons, perhaps there is some build up there. You can bleed them but if they worked fine before the youshouldnt have to...

3. M.C. Gong

M.C. Gong I am the motor

CENIC
    Thanks I'll give that I try. I tried to push them out with a wrench and they wouldn't move any further. I'll give it one more try.

4. RustyIron

RustyIron Rob S.

Home Page:
    If your system has excessive fluid, no amount of pushing will get the pistons to move in further. If that is the case, you can barely crack the bleed screw and put a rag over it. Then push the pistons in more, and all will be well. Even so, I'm a big proponent of bleeding the brakes frequently, and now would be a good time.

5. thomaswildchild

thomaswildchild Active Member

I am a Machinist
    Home Page:
    I agree, but if they worked fine before then why work on it? Also there could be excessive fluid, but if they didnt act like that from the beginning then why would they do so after time?

6. cruzin 52s

cruzin 52s Member