Go Back   SoCalTrailRiders > Off topic > The Pub

The Pub Put your legs up, grab you favorite brew, and just hang out. Off topic.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-15-2008, 12:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Bend over
 
soul rider's Avatar
 
Default EBAY scammers

** WARNING **
got an email from what looked like from EBAY stating my account was locked because someone tried 5 times to access it. then there is a link that looks like the EBAY log in page. It is a scam!!!!
do not fall for it. I checked my EBAY account and it is not locked. I forwarded the email to the EBAY police and let them take care of it.
soul rider is offline
post thanked by:
mtnbikerfred (04-15-2008), onegymrat (04-15-2008), surlygal (04-15-2008)
Old 04-15-2008, 12:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
STR Veteran
 
Default

ooo... i would be weary about that web page too... check to make sure your virus protection is up to date!
faded1004 is offline
Old 04-15-2008, 12:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
_____
 
Default

i got that emaila few years ago looked at the security box in the bottom corner cllosed the window and opened up my perfectly fine ebay account not on a false I have found that anything that is seriously important will at least send a letter or a phone call to you
__________________

Rockinthecasbah is offline
Old 04-15-2008, 12:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Epic Builder
 
GP_pilot's Avatar
 
Default

If you're ever in doubt, log into the actual website and check your messages from there. I've had some very authentic e-mails from eBay, PayPal, Bank of America, etc that all turned out to be spoofs trying to capture your personal information.
GP_pilot is offline
post thanked by:
surlygal (04-15-2008)
Old 04-15-2008, 12:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Slow Rider
 
onegymrat's Avatar
 
Default

Wow, I'm on there a lot and I didn't realize that this was going on. Thanks for the headsup. I see, from time to time, a listing for a Specialized Epic Carbon for some ridiculous buy it now price, but it states to contact an email addresss but not the seller! Looks like they take hold of your account and list stuff to be paid outside of ebay.
onegymrat is offline
Old 04-15-2008, 12:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
goin all the way!!!
 
surlygal's Avatar
 
Thumbs up Great Point!

Quote:
Originally Posted by GP_pilot View Post
If you're ever in doubt, log into the actual website and check your messages from there. I've had some very authentic e-mails from eBay, PayPal, Bank of America, etc that all turned out to be spoofs trying to capture your personal information.
Yep - Neil & I have been sent so many fake emails, that we never reply, open, etc to any of them from the email.

It's just good personal info practice
__________________
---> FS: Rocky Mtn Flatline Pro $1199.00 <---click here

tkblazer: " i'm a freakin roadie now"
Wrecker: "Although six inches is fine with me, it'll have to be white. "
surlygal is offline
Old 04-15-2008, 12:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
What should I put here?
 
kanga's Avatar
 
Default

1st rule of internet safety:

Never click a link in an email, even if it's from somebody you know. Re-type the link, if you think it will be worth visiting.
__________________
To expand your comfort zone, you have to leave it!
http://www.BioniconUSA.com
http://www.OTBMBC.com
http://www.CORBAmtb.com
kanga is offline
Old 04-15-2008, 12:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
STR Veteran
 
Default

oh i frgot. usually internet companies will never send info over the e-mail or ask for it? like paypal, they always address your full name? i forget... anyways, good idea on typing out the adress, main address only, and go from main site...

if paypal says something, go to paypal.com (not the e-mail link) and check it out.
faded1004 is offline
STR sponsored links
Reply
  SoCalTrailRiders > Off topic > The Pub

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beach Cruiser on ebay for over $2000 USD nappyt The Pub 14 03-12-2008 07:07 AM
Turning tables on the scammers... guero The Pub 3 03-10-2008 03:23 PM
Ebay stuck me with a FS 29er frame dubjay General Discussion 28 01-10-2008 12:21 PM
Team Issue Discovery Channel bikes for sale on EBay lardbutt The Roadie Hangout 6 12-14-2007 12:36 PM
Shopping on Ebay... Jman The Market Place 8 12-02-2007 08:52 PM

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0 RC7


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106