Go Back   SoCalTrailRiders > Off topic > The Pub

The Pub Put your legs up, grab you favorite brew, and just hang out. Off topic.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-04-2008, 08:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
I made a Taco this big!
 
Pho'dUp's Avatar
 
Default New Paypal phising email.

Hey guys,

I know a lot of you use Paypal to pay for stuff etc. I.e. look at the STR 2008 calendars. Anyways, I just spotted this spoof email from a phishing scammer. Don't know if it's random, but I just used paypal to for my Calendar. I got the normal confirmation email from that. But then got this one this morning and the sender/subject looked almost the same as the one from Paypal. I see the used the sender name as the same email that paypal uses "service@paypal.com" so it comes up looking legit. Even better, when my knee jerk reaction to the bogus item I clicked the "Dispute Charge" link and almost tried to log in.

Normal thing with links in the email that direct you to a fake paypal site. But it looked very real to me at first glance. I almost tried to log-in. I checked my paypal history from the real site and there's no record of this transaction. Bottom line. NEVER log in any financial, credit account using enclosed links in a email.

I have already notified Paypal.

From:"service@paypal.com" <service@paypal-us.com> Add to Address Book Add Mobile Alert Subject: Payment has been sent Date: Fri, 4 Jan 2008 06:11:43 -0500 Dear client ,
Pho'dUp is offline
post thanked by:
allison (01-04-2008), BrewMaster (01-04-2008), BSki (01-04-2008), CalEpic (01-04-2008), DeeZee (01-04-2008), Do Work (01-04-2008), foofighter (01-04-2008), Frozen208 (01-04-2008), guero (01-04-2008), jayman_29 (01-04-2008), J_Sims (01-04-2008), OTHRIDER (01-04-2008), Pato (01-04-2008), sdyeti (01-04-2008), Waldo (01-04-2008), Wrecker (01-04-2008), xhuskr (01-04-2008)
Old 01-04-2008, 08:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Aloha Brah!
 
northshore's Avatar
 
Default

Very common for paypal, ebay, western union, pretty much any of those.
__________________
Hawaiian Island Creations
Ride it: dw-link.com/reasons
northshore is offline
Old 01-04-2008, 08:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
^^^^^^^^^^^
 
Code Blue's Avatar
 
Default Just think

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pho'dUp View Post
Hey guys,

I know a lot of you use Paypal to pay for stuff etc. I.e. look at the STR 2008 calendars. Anyways, I just spotted this spoof email from a phishing scammer. Don't know if it's random, but I just used paypal to for my Calendar. I got the normal confirmation email from that. But then got this one this morning and the sender/subject looked almost the same as the one from Paypal. I see the used the sender name as the same email that paypal uses "service@paypal.com" so it comes up looking legit. Even better, when my knee jerk reaction to the bogus item I clicked the "Dispute Charge" link and almost tried to log in.

Normal thing with links in the email that direct you to a fake paypal site. But it looked very real to me at first glance. I almost tried to log-in. I checked my paypal history from the real site and there's no record of this transaction. Bottom line. NEVER log in any financial, credit account using enclosed links in a email.

I have already notified Paypal.

From:"service@paypal.com" <service@paypal-us.com> Add to Address Book Add Mobile Alert Subject: Payment has been sent Date: Fri, 4 Jan 2008 06:11:43 -0500 Dear client ,

if these low lifes used their creativity for something usefull. I hope all scammers have a slow painful death
__________________
As it seems that this thread may be headed for the usuall as of late STR Down hill spiral JSims
Code Blue is online now
Old 01-04-2008, 08:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
denmother's Avatar
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pho'dUp View Post
Hey guys,

I know a lot of you use Paypal to pay for stuff etc. I.e. look at the STR 2008 calendars. Anyways, I just spotted this spoof email from a phishing scammer. Don't know if it's random,
I get them all the time!!!
__________________
My Blog/My Sponsorhouse profile
~Weekends are like recess for adults so play hard until the bell rings
Gene Hamilton: Happy, friendly people that may not be the best athletes are more fun than arrogant "experts".
denmother is offline
Old 01-04-2008, 09:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
I made a Taco this big!
 
Pho'dUp's Avatar
 
Default

I get the phishers too but this one caught me off guard cuz I just used paypal. Anyhow here's the response from the paypal folks.

Thanks for taking an active role by reporting suspicious-looking
emails.
The email you forwarded to us is a phishing email, and our security
team
is working to disable it.

-------------------------
What is a phishing email?
-------------------------
Phishing emails attempt to steal your identity and will often ask you
to
reveal your password or other personal or financial information. PayPal

will never ask for your password over the phone or in an email and will

always address you by your first and last name.

Take our Fight Phishing Challenge at
https://www.paypal.com/fightphishing to learn 5 things you should know
about phishing. You'll also see what we're doing to help fight fraud
every day.

-------------------------
You've made a difference.
-------------------------
Every email counts. By forwarding a suspicious-looking email to
spoof@paypal.com, you've helped keep yourself and others safe from
identity theft.

Thanks,

The PayPal Team
__________________________________________________ _____________________
This email is sent to you by the contracting entity to your User
Agreement, either PayPal Inc, PayPal Pte. Ltd or PayPal (Europe) S.à
r.l. & Cie, S.C.A. Société en Commandite par Actions, Registered
Office:
5th Floor 22-24 Boulevard Royal L-2449, Luxembourg RCS Luxembourg B 118

349.
__________________________________________________ _____________________


Original Message Follows:
-------------------------

Note: forwarded message attached.
Pho'dUp is offline
post thanked by:
Do Work (01-04-2008)
Old 01-04-2008, 09:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Aloha Brah!
 
northshore's Avatar
 
Default

DeeZee, this should make your day:

http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20080104/..._indictment_dc
__________________
Hawaiian Island Creations
Ride it: dw-link.com/reasons
northshore is offline
STR sponsored links
Reply
  SoCalTrailRiders > Off topic > The Pub

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An email from a riding buddy….. Code Blue The Pub 26 10-26-2007 09:40 PM
Question about PayPal i am dino The Pub 9 01-15-2006 05:22 PM
Pricematch email says can't combine with special offers..... i am dino General Discussion 2 10-03-2005 12:29 PM

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0 RC7


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107