Go Back   SoCalTrailRiders > Local Riding > The Market Place

The Market Place Review local bike shops, share coupons, or sell/buy your bike gear.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-11-2008, 02:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
powered by natural gas
 
SIK SD's Avatar
 
Default Somebody should buy this now!! (if it's legit)

I just can't help showing this, i wish i could buy it right now but i just bought a Yeti last week...Obviously i am not selling this but i hope someone gets it (or if it happens to be yours i hope you get it back):

Listed today on SD Craigs, WTF? $6500 bike:


http://sandiego.craigslist.org/ssd/spo/716054441.html
__________________
What matters is not the length of the wand, but the magic in the stick.
SIK SD is offline
post thanked by:
Dan White (06-11-2008), DownHillPhil (06-11-2008), stinkyrider (06-11-2008)
Old 06-11-2008, 02:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Now a GloryDH rider
 
stinkyrider's Avatar
 
Default

My God, that is a smoking deal.
stinkyrider is offline
Old 06-11-2008, 02:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
bikeaholic
 
bikeadict's Avatar
 
Default

e-mail sent... lets see if this guy is legit...
bikeadict is offline
post thanked by:
SIK SD (06-11-2008)
Old 06-11-2008, 02:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Rawhead's Avatar
 
Default

awesome bike... i just can't stand the look of the raw carbon frame. Sweet deal either way. I say it's stolen.
__________________
I'd rather be riding my mountain bike thinking about God than sitting in church thinking about my mountain bike.
Rawhead is offline
Old 06-11-2008, 02:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
powered by natural gas
 
SIK SD's Avatar
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bikeadict View Post
e-mail sent... lets see if this guy is legit...
Let us know what you find, i can't email the seller, i will wind up buying it.
__________________
What matters is not the length of the wand, but the magic in the stick.
SIK SD is offline
Old 06-11-2008, 02:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
bikeaholic
 
bikeadict's Avatar
 
Default

oh well, its a scam, way too good to be true.

Below is the scammer's response to my e-mail

Quote:
Originally Posted by scammer
Hi Andrew,

I want you to know that the bike is in perfect working conditions. Right now i am gone in Texas, but i hope that`s not going to be a problem because i can still handle the transaction. Before i went to Texas, i left the bike along with several other items in the custody of The Online Outpost because i wanted to sell them on eBay when i return, but something came up back home and i decided to sell them before i get back, but not on eBay, because i need to sell them faster.

So if you are still interested let me know because i can make the transaction immediately. Just let me know and i will explain all the details of the transaction...

Thanks,
Barry
bikeadict is offline
Old 06-11-2008, 02:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
On the Mend
 
foofighter's Avatar
 
Default

stolen from a shop or trailer i bet...that's the cynical side of me
__________________
Pho'd Up: " Heart Rate Monitor + Road miles = fast. Chasing Neil, and Chris (Sar Boats) = Faster."
www.coverageispersonal.com
foofighter is online now
Old 06-11-2008, 02:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Pedal Damn It
 
davidB's Avatar
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bikeadict View Post
oh well, its a scam, way too good to be true.

Below is the scammer's response to my e-mail
go with it, see what his "details" are
davidB is offline
Old 06-11-2008, 03:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
bikeaholic
 
bikeadict's Avatar
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidB View Post
go with it, see what his "details" are
be my guest, I'm sure he'll e-mail you the same response. I don't have time to toy with such losers... time to go ride the bike!!
bikeadict is offline
Old 06-11-2008, 03:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Member
 
Default Scam

Obvious Scam!
jonv05 is offline
Old 06-11-2008, 03:05 PM   #11 (permalink)
All my words are rubbish
 
Allrotor13b's Avatar
 
Default

That bike gave me chub
__________________
What's that smell?
Allrotor13b is offline
post thanked by:
ohyeah89 (06-11-2008)
Old 06-11-2008, 03:19 PM   #12 (permalink)
Member
 
roguemoog's Avatar
 
Default

I got the same scam response when replying to a Superlight post. I knew as soon as I got the first response it was a scam (simple google search) but I pretended to be interested until I got the 'agent' name that they ask to wire money to. But that's probably fake too, who knows...
__________________
-Armando
roguemoog is offline
Old 06-11-2008, 04:54 PM   #13 (permalink)
 
dirtmistress's Avatar
 
Default

So does that mean the bike doesn't even exist?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allrotor13b View Post
That bike gave me chub
TMI...
__________________
http://www.bichonsandbuddies.com/
Shannon; "You see the problem is that God gave men a brain and a penis...but only enough blood to run one at a time".
dirtmistress is offline
Old 06-11-2008, 06:06 PM   #14 (permalink)
I poached, and got busted
 
singleminded's Avatar
 
Default Yep

I was ready to go pick it up today......but not in Texas
__________________
Eric

"Pain is nothing compared to what it feels like to quit"
singleminded is offline
Old 06-11-2008, 06:15 PM   #15 (permalink)
Is this thing on?
 
station's Avatar
 
Default

So my friend has this frame and it's not that light. You think carbon fiber would make a 2lb frame, nope. this thing is at least 4 lbs?
station is online now
Old 06-11-2008, 06:22 PM   #16 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
mcinvale's Avatar
 
Default

hahah, i have time to play with a scammer so i emailed him as well...

why would it be posted in "sporting goods" and not "bikes"? lol.
__________________
beer pictures
mcinvale is online now
Old 06-11-2008, 08:10 PM   #17 (permalink)
Warrior Society Member
 
mtnbikej's Avatar
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foofighter View Post
stolen from a shop or trailer i bet...that's the cynical side of me

Not stolen......scammer does not even have the bike. Seller will ask for funds to be sent via Western Union and then disappear.....no bike actually exists. Pics and description were pulled from the web somewhere.
mtnbikej is offline
post thanked by:
foofighter (06-11-2008)
Old 06-11-2008, 08:37 PM   #18 (permalink)
 
Von-Diggity's Avatar
 
Default Uhh...

Most 5" travel full suspension frames are in the 6lb+ range. The Mojo is a 5lb 5.5 inch frame.



Quote:
Originally Posted by station View Post
So my friend has this frame and it's not that light. You think carbon fiber would make a 2lb frame, nope. this thing is at least 4 lbs?
__________________
You are not what you own.
-Fugazi
Von-Diggity is offline
Old 06-11-2008, 09:54 PM   #19 (permalink)
I poached, and got busted
 
singleminded's Avatar
 
Default

No.....website claims sub 6lbs for the non-sl mdl (probably just under 6) and 5 lbs for the sl

Quote:
Originally Posted by station View Post
So my friend has this frame and it's not that light. You think carbon fiber would make a 2lb frame, nope. this thing is at least 4 lbs?
__________________
Eric

"Pain is nothing compared to what it feels like to quit"
singleminded is offline
Old 06-11-2008, 09:56 PM   #20 (permalink)
 
BFloFoxRider.'s Avatar
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by station View Post
So my friend has this frame and it's not that light. You think carbon fiber would make a 2lb frame, nope. this thing is at least 4 lbs?

not sure about ibis, but many companies that make "carbon Fiber" stuff, actually wrap the carbon Fiber around a skinny aluminum tube
__________________
Brandon FLOres
You measure yourself by the people who measure themselves by you.
This is How we do it!
BFloFoxRider. is offline
STR sponsored links
Reply
  SoCalTrailRiders > Local Riding > The Market Place

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can these ads be legit? Waldo The Market Place 26 11-16-2007 07:33 PM

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0 RC7