Go Back   SoCalTrailRiders > Local Riding > The Market Place

The Market Place Review local bike shops, share coupons, or sell/buy your bike gear.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-15-2007, 10:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lebowski Urban Achiever
 
Waldo's Avatar
 
Question Can these ads be legit?

Somebody who lists their location as Orange, CA is listing 6-10 bikes per day on Craigslist, and many are high end bikes. Many also have suspiciously low prices, and the ad copy & pics are lifted straight from the manufacturers' web sites. Examples from today:

A new Superlight with XTR everything for $1200?!?

A new Specialized Roubaix Pro (MSRP $4100) for $1800?!?

Anybody know anything about the seller? About the source of these bikes?
__________________
Just because the bike can do it doesn't mean the rider can!

"My ass is sore after a long ride." - MtnKitty
Waldo is offline
Old 11-15-2007, 10:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Stuck up, half witted...
 
scruffylooking's Avatar
 
Default

Seems shady to me. Try emailing and post up what you get back...
__________________
www.bikeskills.com
scruffylooking is offline
Old 11-15-2007, 10:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Warrior Society Member
 
mtnbikej's Avatar
 
Default

Superlight frame retails for $1200 on its own. SCAM.
mtnbikej is offline
Old 11-15-2007, 10:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Shu
Team Brittle
 
Shu's Avatar
 
Default

I trust VERY little on Craigslist....
__________________
07 Bionicon Golden Willow
Rat Rod cruiser
Shu is offline
Old 11-16-2007, 05:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Prince Charmless
 
stinkyrider's Avatar
 
Default

I've pretty much boycotted buying or selling ANYTHING on Craig's List.
It's become a bastion of methamphetamine addicts and all around "sketchy" people.
Might as well buy off the back of some guy's van parked in an alley in San Bernardino.
stinkyrider is offline
post thanked by:
BrewMaster (11-16-2007), sdyeti (11-16-2007)
Old 11-16-2007, 05:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Tri Fanatic
 
RidetheRAAM4's Avatar
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stinkyrider View Post
I've pretty much boycotted buying or selling ANYTHING on Craig's List.
It's become a bastion of methamphetamine addicts and all around "sketchy" people.
Might as well buy off the back of some guy's van parked in an alley in San Bernardino.
I have been selling stuff on craigslist lately with success, but i do get people who call and are all interested, but never come. But I have made a few hundred. Got some new MTB shoes, got a new cassette, and got my race entry fee paid all while freeing up room in my room and garage by selling stuff I haven't touched in 6 years
__________________
"my gain is your loss" -Some guy on craigslist

Race Progression
RidetheRAAM4 is offline
Old 11-16-2007, 06:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Over the Hill
 
dstepper's Avatar
 
Default

I supose you could e-mail them and ask for the serial number off the frame. I would be curious how they would react to that question. Bet you don't get a e-mail back.

Dean
__________________
If I'm not lost or getting bushwacked, the trail was too easy.

Prescott Valley Houses
The Path
dstepper is offline
Old 11-16-2007, 06:23 AM   #8 (permalink)
Aloha Brah!
 
northshore's Avatar
 
Default

This dude has been doing it for months. I've been looking for a bike to buy and it's a total SCAM.
__________________
Hawaiian Island Creations
Ride it: dw-link.com/reasons
northshore is offline
Old 11-16-2007, 06:30 AM   #9 (permalink)
Turbospoke afficionado
 
EndoMaster's Avatar
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stinkyrider View Post
I've pretty much boycotted buying or selling ANYTHING on Craig's List.
It's become a bastion of methamphetamine addicts and all around "sketchy" people.
Might as well buy off the back of some guy's van parked in an alley in San Bernardino.
Same for me. Lots of email replys about how interested they are and then no-one ever shows up.
__________________
[FONT=Arial][SIZE=4]"BikerFox knows that some of you folks look at him and think that he is very strange." [SIZE=1]Bikerfox[/SIZE][/SIZE][/FONT]
EndoMaster is offline
Old 11-16-2007, 06:34 AM   #10 (permalink)
sandbagger
 
autoduel's Avatar
 
Default

how does he get your money? aren't craigslist transactions face to face? do they rob you at gunpoint when you show up?
__________________
Steve
Just along for the ride
Originally Posted by SheDevil
Autoduel...yours is huge!!!
autoduel is offline
Old 11-16-2007, 06:42 AM   #11 (permalink)
Thirsty
 
BrewMaster's Avatar
 
Default

Perhaps they are selling stolen bikes.
__________________
Solo rides are good for the soul.
BrewMaster is offline
Old 11-16-2007, 07:32 AM   #12 (permalink)
Client 9
 
Fired Yo Momma's Avatar
 
Default

I sell and buy on Craigs list all the time with no issues. Here is what I do, Duh call/email the buyer or seller asking more info on the item. If they want you to wire them money to a fed ex account in africa then it properly is a scam. Many times these bike you see could be stollen property from other riders . If you get a agreement going make sure you make the transaction in a public place. Don't go to the seller's or buyer's house. Thats my 2 cents.
__________________
And the hangovers hurt more than they used to And corn bread and ice tea took the place of pills and 80 proof
And it seems like none of us do the things quite like we used to do
And nobody wants to get high on the town
And all my rowdy friends have settled down

-Hank Williams Jr.
Fired Yo Momma is offline
post thanked by:
Do Work (11-16-2007)
Old 11-16-2007, 07:35 AM   #13 (permalink)
 
2wheel_lee's Avatar
 
Default

I saw those also. They could be from a shop that wants to clear them out. I know of a couple shops who clear out slow moving high-end product on craigslist. And I know some of their prices are well below their cost. They just don't want to be stuck with the stuff any longer than they have to. I don't know if these items are from either of the shops I know.
__________________
Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary... that's what gets you.

May the air be filled with tires!
2wheel_lee is offline
post thanked by:
DISCO (11-16-2007)
Old 11-16-2007, 07:39 AM   #14 (permalink)
Hell On Wheels!!
 
DISCO's Avatar
 
Default

I could see shops dumping inventory to avoid paying taxes on it. And technically craigs might not constitute a violation of a vendor agreement. Bears further investigation....
DISCO is offline
post thanked by:
Pain Freak (11-16-2007)
Old 11-16-2007, 07:43 AM   #15 (permalink)
STR Veteran
 
el_d00der1n0's Avatar
 
Default

I got this sweet 2005 Giant Reign for 800 bucks last week from some guy in the downtown area.












j/k
__________________
My Blog
el_d00der1n0 is offline
post thanked by:
bjammin (11-16-2007), Evil Chocula (11-16-2007), Fired Yo Momma (11-16-2007)
Old 11-16-2007, 08:07 AM   #16 (permalink)
An Illustrated Scumbag
 
J_Sims's Avatar
 
Default

Just send cash and wait for your new bike to arrive....
__________________
If you don't live for something... You will die for nothing

That's right 1/2 Horse power baby



http://www.thepathbikeshop.com/
J_Sims is offline
Old 11-16-2007, 08:22 AM   #17 (permalink)
I drank the 29" kool-aid.
 
Evil Chocula's Avatar
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by el_d00der1n0 View Post
I got this sweet 2005 Giant Reign for 800 bucks last week from some guy in the downtown area.



j/k

HAHA.

REMINDER TO EVERYONE:

My silver, 2005 Giant Reign, with green tribal BS on the top/down tube, beige Zochi AM2 fork, E-13 clear bashguard and Hope seatpost collar is out there somewhere. I think its only a matter of time till the spun out crack head tries to sell it.
__________________
And my straw reaches acroooooooss the room, and starts to drink your milkshake... I... drink... your... milkshake!
Evil Chocula is online now
post thanked by:
el_d00der1n0 (11-16-2007), stinkyrider (11-16-2007)
Old 11-16-2007, 03:09 PM   #18 (permalink)
Fear the Cacti
 
.8down's Avatar
 
Default

Ive had decent luck with Craigslist, got a nice set of Juicy Carbon brakes for 220...and an Xt Rear D for like 45 bucks once....I did however have this crazy guy try to return a frame he bought from me because in HIS opinion the shock was GOING to fail...even after we met up at the Path and took it in to one of the techs to ok it....
__________________
I like bikes.
.8down is offline
Old 11-16-2007, 03:13 PM   #19 (permalink)
Reformed Triathlete
 
lukewiens's Avatar
 
Default

they used to have some similar thing set up on ebay. the ads would appear and then disappear within a day or two. they usually sold bikes for way less then they would retail for. i read up about them because it seemed too good to be true.

well, it was. it seems most of these deals end up in some sort of sketchy payment deal where there is a cashiers check or some weird payment site.

if i am going to fork over anything more then a grand for something then i want to talk to someone face to face. then at least i know who exactly to go after if the sh!t doesn't go through.
__________________
"when you get hurt and all of your sacrifice adds up to nothing, are you willing to put it all on the line again?" - conrad stoltz

MY BLOG - EMTB Quest for 24 hours solo
lukewiens is offline
Old 11-16-2007, 03:15 PM   #20 (permalink)
Member
 
2w4s's Avatar
 
Default

definitely a scam, and definitely a great opportunity to f#ck with a scammer.
2w4s is offline
post thanked by:
BrewMaster (11-16-2007), Evil Chocula (11-16-2007)
STR sponsored links
Reply
  SoCalTrailRiders > Local Riding > The Market Place

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0 RC7


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8