STR | SocalTrailRiders.org
Your Southern California
Mountain Biking Community
|
|||||||
| General Discussion For any bike discussion that doesn't belong in other forums. |
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools |
|
|
#1 (permalink) |
|
Slowest Member
|
Im selling a frame, on MTBR, and the Buyer and I have agreed to a price, but he wants to send me a Money order or certified check, for more than the amount because he wants to use a "moving" company of his choice to come get the frame at which point he would like me to use the extra funds to pay them.
Does that sound like a scam? It's just Ive always done it where you get money via paypal, and put the item in a shipping box and send it off to the buyer... anyone every have a request like this turn out it was some sort of a scam? |
|
|
| post thanked by: |
DaddyRydz (07-05-2008)
|
|
|
#2 (permalink) |
|
trail-male for hire...
|
419 Scam. But you should get him to mail it anyway. Tell him you need it by Tuesday or the deal is off.
419eater.com is a great website |
|
|
| post thanked by: |
wheels (07-05-2008)
|
|
|
#3 (permalink) |
|
Surf 'n' Trail Rat
|
Since you're the seller, you are the one who gets to dictate the payment terms. Paypal is best, or he can meet you in person with cash. His terms sound really suspicious.
![]()
__________________
"I don't need to go to the Arctic, to know that it's cold." SheDevil "Besides....half of this forum go both ways" |
|
|
| post thanked by: |
wheels (07-05-2008)
|
|
|
#4 (permalink) |
|
Bloated Ogre
|
100% scam.
You'll probably get a few of these from your ad there. I had one guy send me the same e-mail for another part the day after I cursed him up and down for sending me the same e-mail the day before. Their nerve knows no bounds. |
|
|
| post thanked by: |
wheels (07-05-2008)
|
|
|
#5 (permalink) | |
|
Slowest Member
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
#6 (permalink) |
|
Junior Member
|
Probably scam. Check this http://www.mtbr.com/warning1crx.aspx
|
|
|
| post thanked by: |
wheels (07-07-2008)
|
|
|
#7 (permalink) |
|
Old man goin' downhill
|
Tell him to go ahead and send a money order but tell him it will need to be for 75$ more. If the money order shows go to a check cashing place (that is what the extra 75 is for, cover the fee) and have them cash it. If they do then send him the bike once you have the CASH in yer hand.
If they do not, tell him the bike will be ready to ship 9 days from then and then call the authorities to try and arrange a sting opp.
__________________
"If it aint a weight supporting bone then get back out there!!"
|
|
|
| post thanked by: |
wheels (07-07-2008)
|
|
|
#9 (permalink) | |
|
Bloated Ogre
|
Quote:
It's a guaranteed scam. No legitimate buyer operates this way. I would like to see the contents of his correspondence if you don't mind revealing it. |
|
|
|
| post thanked by: |
wheels (07-07-2008)
|
|
|
#11 (permalink) |
|
Slowest Member
|
Hello,
I am interested in your Frame,please do get back to me with your final firm price? if its still available. I just have these few questions left Whats the general condition of the Frame? What is your firm price? Hecks http://classifieds.mtbr.com/showprod...?product=22076 Thanks for the response regarding the sales of your frame,I went through all the info and details of the frame once more,all in all i want you to know that i am satisfied with the conditions of this frame,Also i want you to know that i will take the frame for the amount of $280.00,So i will need your contact information so as to mail out the payment to you first thing tomorrow morning because i would like us to conclude this transaction in a timely manner,I'd like to inform you that an excess amount will be added to the payment which will be sent out to you which will be for the mover that will come for the pick up of the frame.Can i can entrust you that you will forward the remaining funds to the mover for the pick up,I will be expecting your payment information where you want the payment sent to.Thanks Regards Hecks Thanks for sounding really reasonably and understanding,people of your calibre are a rarity these days,not to waste much time on character compliments,like i said in my previous email I'm taking the Frame for $280.00 so i guess we land ourselves a deal to set things on motion,also take note that the shipping is not any of your duty as i said in my previous email,all you have do is have the Frame ready for shippment,So that when the shipping company come they can pick it up without much time wasting.They have a website you can check out,they are reputable and i have utilized them in the past,and they have not failed me.Anyway the shipping costs quotation would be inclusive in the payment total amount what would be left after you deduct your $280.00 for the Frame,The shipping company would be contacting you shortly after you receipt of the payment on further instructions hence no worries whatsoever,Can you give me your solemn word that you will forward the shipping funds to the representative of the shipping company as soon as you have the Payment cashed at your bank,I'll be giving you further instructions subsequently on how to forward the shipping funds to the shipper once you deduct your money for the Frame from the Payment. The reason why the shipping fee is been included along with your money is becuase of time factor and easier transaction.Time factor in the sense that if payment is sent directly to the shipper it would take them more than 2 weeks before the whole tranaction would be rounded-up becuase of the huge capacity of customers they deal with worldwide but if you simply send the shipping fee to them after deducting your money for the frame they would be obliged to come for the pick-up of the frame 2-3days after they get the fees from you unlike other customers that only have little deposit dropped and months booked way ahead..So dont let the shipping bother you,Once you recieve the Payment cashed it and deduct your sales money...I'll give you instructions on where to send the remaing funds to which obviously is ment for the whole shipping expenses Once that is done the shipper would be at your place not less than 48hours to come and pick the Frame,I'll have the tracking for your monitoring available in 1-3 days time meanwhile have the advert removed so i can have rest of mind and keep the other inquirers off,Hope to hear from you soonest. Sincerely yours Hecks PS-Payment would be in either Money order or certified check. |
|
|
|
|
#14 (permalink) |
|
I hate climbs!
|
I don't see too much of a problem with it as long as you can cash it and have the green in your hand before you shipped the frame. now where it sounds fishy to me is with the insistence of using a specific mover. my fear would a bigger crime like robbery, trafficing, or something like that.
|
|
|
| post thanked by: |
wheels (07-07-2008)
|
|
|
#17 (permalink) |
|
Member
|
It's a scam people. The buyer can in fact dupe the seller. They lull you in with the promise of more cash than you asked for (Hello? Something for Nothing! Anyone?). Anyway, the terms dictated usually state that you must send off the product within a certain time period, just soon enough that the well done forgery of a certified or cashiers check will not be noticed by you or your bank. They are trying to beat the banks check-clearing procedures. Often times they will promise you a little extra money so that you will use and pay for their preferred shipper. Great, they get your product and make you pay to ship it, all while you get screwed and forced to pay bad-check charges with your bank. Sound like fun?
__________________
__________________________________________ "You know, ..., mud is nothing more than wet dirt!" Homer Simpson |
|
|
| post thanked by: |
wheels (07-07-2008)
|
|
|
#18 (permalink) | |
|
cant find em, grind em!
|
Quote:
The scam is that the cashier's check is fake, he sends you 1,000 dollars for example, you deposit the check and you send back 720.00 to the "shipper" after deducting your 280.00, 2 weeks later your bank calls and tell's you it's a bogus check, you are then on the hook for a fake 1,000 dollar check, "hecks" made 720.00 when it's all said and done(there is no "shipper")
__________________
Save a plant, eat an animal |
|
|
|
|
|
#20 (permalink) | |
|
Senior Member
|
Don't fall for it, as it is a scam out of Nigeria. Years ago, I was sent two checks for large amounts ( not that I didn't know, but wanted to see the actual checks )
Checks look real and even have the security marks on them. Don't take them to the bank, or you might find yourself in jail for a few days until you clear your the situation with the authority. There was a lady selling a car and end up there for trying to cash / deposit one of those checks. Ali Quote:
__________________
Those who know, ride Turner ! |
|
|
|
| post thanked by: |
wheels (07-07-2008)
|
| STR sponsored links |
|
|






